Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Search for Brothers
Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?

Chi Psi Events


Governance - Executive Council
Chi Psi was established first at Union College in 1841 and became a national fraternity with a second Alpha at Williams College in 1842. In the early years, even as Alphas were being added quickly, no central governance was needed. Communicaton was frequent between the many Alphas and the National Convention held each year saw almost all brothers of the Fraternity.

In 1879, the office of the #7, National President was created. Revisions were being made yearly as to how the Fraternity should be governed and in 1891, the Executive Council was established. It has expanded over the years, its members today comprised of the current #7, Dr. Daniel B. Ahlberg, N '67; all living past presidents; nine alumni; and three undergraduate representatives. The Executive Council is assisted by an advisory board of currently nine alumni.

The Executive Council meets three or four times a year to oversee the governing affairs of the Fraternity between Conventions. It implements the directives of the Convention, oversees Central Office employees, grants preliminary colony status to prospective Alphas, and ensures that Fraternity activity conforms with the Constitution and By-Laws.

The Executive Council of Chi Psi Fraternity

Daniel B. Ahlberg, MD, N '67, #7    Golden Valley, Minnesota
Dennis E. Whitfield, AΔ '71, Chairman    Alexandria, Virginia 
Andrew J. Dewing, OΔ '84, Vice Chairman    Suffolk, Virginia
Samuel C. Bessey, HΔ '97, #23 
  Nashville, Tennessee

Steve M. Rickmeier, EΔ '69 - Lake Forest, Illinois
Paul Wright, O '82 – Charlottesville, Virginia
James Haltom, Σ '03 – Nashville, Tennessee
William B. Wrightsman, HΔ '84 - Henderson, Nevada
James Van Dyke, E '01 - Grosse Pointe, Michigan
William C. Bode, ΘΔ '01    Olympia, Washington
Michael Carlson, N '05 – St. Paul, Minnesota

Will Overton, Σ '13 – Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Brian Murphy, YΔ '13 – Winston Salem, North Carolina
Francis Howitt, HΔ '16- Eugene, Oregon

Council Members Emeritus:  
    W. David Romoser, ZΔ '65    Mequon, Wisconsin
    Michael Kosusko,
Ξ '77    Durham, North Carolina
    Harold G. Arnwine II, T
Δ '86, NΔ '02    New York, New York
    Michael C. Hurst,
Δ '87    Sewanee, Tennessee

Past #7’s:
    Dr. George W. Ray III, A '54 
  Lexington, Virginia
    Robert C. Preble Jr., X '44 
  Chicago, Illinois
    Carleton A. Holstrom,
I '57 
  Pipersville, Pennsylvania

Council Advisory Board Members:
    Dr. John T. Austell, B '61 
  Columbia, South Carolina
    J. Lee Cook,
Δ '74    Atlanta, Georgia
    Paul W. Landaker,
Δ '75    Portland, Oregon
    Craig S. Chelius,  ΘΔ '83  –  Seattle, Washington

    Michael F. O'Neill, X '87    Westfield, New Jersey
    Todd A. Fouts, Z
Δ '89    Edelstein, Illinois
    Adam Wellman, E '93 
  Ann Arbor, Michigan
    Mark S. Puzella, A '94    Cohasset, Massachusetts
    Doug Buglewicz, G '96  
  Water Valley, Mississippi
    Steven A. Starnes, E '01 - Arlington, VA
    Jason Rericha, PΔ '06  Charlotte, North Carolina
    Victor Jaworski, IΔ '07    Atlanta, Georgia

Chi Psi Central Office - The Chi Psi Educational Trust - 45 Rutledge Street, Nashville, TN 37210 - 615.736.2520 -